Couponing and Clean Eating (Pt. 1)

For the past two, or three, months, I have been a little cautious about the kind of food I eat. No, I have not gone on this full blown out health craze, but I have been paying a little more attention to the ingredients listed on my food. The reason is that I am trying to stay away from overly processed food.

According to the official Whole Food Market blog “Whole Story,” processed food is food that has in some way been altered from its natural state, i.e. peeled, chopped, steamed, and/or frozen veggies. Now, overly processed food is food that has been altered to the point where it is barely recognizable. Exhibit A:

 

Credit: Fooducate via A Black Girl's guide to weight loss

Can you recognize this food item? No, well neither could I, but it is chicken. Yes, that pinky gooey, taffy laffy looking thing is chicken. This type of chicken can be found in your pot pies, chicken nuggets, and chicken patties. ::side-eyes Marie Callendar:: If you would like more information on overly processed food, then there is a wonder article about it at “A Black Girls Guide to weight loss.”

Once I became cognizant of overly processed food, and its effects on the body, I decided that I would try to completely eliminate it from my diet. You may ask, “Well, what does clean eating have to do with couponing?” It has everything to do with couponing because a lot of the grocery coupons that you see are for foods that are overly processed. I really want to save just as much as the next person; however, I do not want to jeopardize my health in the process.

Understanding the challenges of clean eating and couponing, I decided that I have to be more strategic about what coupons I use and how I use them. My goal is to save money on my grocery bill,  not to have an unhealthy eating habits just to save money. In the second part of this post I will discuss some of the ways you can save on groceries while still participating in clean eating.

-Happy Savings

2 Responses to “Couponing and Clean Eating (Pt. 1)”

  1. […] and Clean Eating (Pt. 2) by Shana on February 9, 2011 In my part 1 post, I talked to you about cleaning eating and how most coupons are not conducive to a healthy […]

  2. […] my part 1 post, I talked to you about cleaning eating and how most coupons are not conducive to a healthy […]

Leave a Reply

