Couponing and Clean Eating (Pt. 2)

In my part 1 post, I talked to you about cleaning eating and how most coupons are not conducive to a healthy lifestyle. In this post, I will give a few shopping tips to those who want to save money and eat cleanly.

Farmers Market

Shopping at a farmer’s market has its benefits; for example, the fruit and veggies can be cheap, farmers allow you to do a taste test before you buy, and your money goes towards helping out your local farmers.

My first experience at a “Farmer’s Market” was so-so. I went to the Farmer’s Market expecting to see aisles and aisles for fruits, veggies, and fish. I honestly thought I would see a market like the ones on Top Chef. Instead, I what I entered into was a flea market that just so happened to sell some fruits and vegetables. Besides the fact that the selection was a little smaller than expected, my overall experience buying vegetables and fruits was pretty good. I bought a few red, and yellow peppers for a little over a dollar, while Wal-Mart was selling those same peppers for $2.00; and that was for one. This is the type of savings you can find at some farmer’s markets.

Stockpile your veggies

Instead of stockpiling overly processed food, try to stockpile canned and frozen veggies. Yes, frozen and canned veggies are processed food; however, frozen veggies are better than no veggies. If you do not feel comfortable buying frozen and/or canned veggies, then you should make your own frozen vegetables. Just recently I peeled, chopped and bagged a bunch of carrots that I purchased from Wal-Mart. The carrots only cost $.98 a bunch, and I bought two. From the looks of the baggies, these carrots should last me week or two.

Send out emails

If you have a favorite product, then you should email the manufacturer and let them know how much you love their product. Even if it is not your favorite product, share your opinions with them. Manufacturers really value the opinion of their consumers, and some send out coupons to those who comment on their products.

These are just a few tip that I learned along the way, and I hope that these tips can help you like they helped me.

-Happy Savings

One Response to “Couponing and Clean Eating (Pt. 2)”

  1. […] my post Couponing and Clean Eating Pt 2, I mentioned that farmers market are a great source for purchasing fruit and vegetables because the […]

Leave a Reply

